Cinnamon Groove

Why they Hate : a Hypothesis

11 posts in this topic

First off, I'm not a proffessional anything. I never hated during my turn to Bronyhood, nor have I received any hate. But I always try to see things from both perspectives to reach a better understanding of how the other side feels. So here goes. And, this is just my best guess.

To really understand what fuels Bronyhate, the first thing to look at is the demographic of the group. It seems that most Bronies and Haters are male age 18-30. Behaviorally, we're pretty much the same. Raised in the 80's-90's, our culture was fairly constant as we matured. Going by that, the next step toward understanding is to look at the reasons My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic is such a polarising topic.

1) The Pink and the Blue.

Think about the toys you had growing up. untill the 1940's-1950's (or maybe later?) all kids played with pretty much the same stuff. Jacks, Balls, Wagons. Jump ropes. Regardless of gender, these were what they knew. Fast forward a decade or two, and you get Barbie, specifically aimed at girls. A few years later, Matchbox cars for boys. Now even then it wasn't such a big deal to play with one or the other whether your a boy or girl, but it's the seed of an idea, and that seed bore vast fruit in the 1980's.

Yes, those 80's. This decade brought the Pink aisle. Girls were inundated with Barbies, Rainbow Brites, Strawberry Shortcakes, and, of course, My little Ponies; while boys got the G.I.Joes, He-man, and Ninja Turtles. Cartoons pushed all the major lines, with the Girly toys having even girlier shows behind them, and boys toys becoming macho, action-oriented, and more than a little violent.

Lines were drawn in the store. Boys were to stay out of the pink aisle, for fear of being called 'sissy'. Teaparties were forbidden, yet wars encouraged.